02-04-2005, 12:25 AM
Why this happened?

Hello,i am a beginner

i find that after render,the image is brighter than its texture

here is the picture

why?

Imatk
02-04-2005, 12:51 AM
First I would suggest to read your manual.

Second I would suggest buying Inside LW 8 and reading that.

Third go through the tutorials on this site... once you do all that you will know the answer to your question :)

Simple answer: Just because your texture looks the way it does in OpenGL (layout) doesn't mean it's going to render that way.

You have to adjust your lights/surface (diffuse, spec) etc. etc.

SO Read your manual.

Exception
02-04-2005, 03:39 AM
Wow thats a pretty bizarre question...
Are you sure you know what kind of a program Lightwave is?

mattclary
02-04-2005, 05:24 AM
Avast, ye Mateys! Prepaaaare to be boarded!

private
02-04-2005, 06:14 AM
The guy asked a simple question. He/She's new and you assume the worst. At least Imatk gave a useful suggestion. Time to get off your high horses. :rolleyes:

mattclary
02-04-2005, 07:18 AM
The guy asked a simple question.

And that's the crux of the problem. I find it hard to believe someone would shell out $1695 for a piece of software, then ask a silly question because their diffuse was set to high (that's a hint, lserlohn) or their lights too bright. Tells me he doesn't own the manuals. If he does, he deserves a little derision for not reading them. ;)

Kurtis
02-04-2005, 07:28 AM
Not to take sides, but he may be a student, and school's have a hard time keeping track of manuals. I know that was always a problem when I taught LW in Houston.

Just trying to give the benefit of the doubt. Anyway...

lserlohn

It's not unusual. OpenGL lighting is never going to give you a TRUE lighting solution. It's an approximation, so it's not going to look the same. The best way to approach lighting in OpenGL is more to make sure your lights are shining on the correct object(s) and in the correct direction(s) than anything else.