PDA

View Full Version : Center points at only one axis?



Salem78
01-29-2005, 12:06 AM
Pressing F2 is centering points at all axis to 0, but is it possible to center only one axis? I'm using LW 8.

Kurtis
01-29-2005, 04:21 AM
Salem78,

Under the Modify tab in Modeler, click on the More drop-down menu under Translate. You will see the Center 1D tool. This will let you center your object on X, Y, or Z individually.

Salem78
01-29-2005, 04:46 AM
Hmm...I found Center 1D but it's centering the whole model, it doesn't center the singel point I have selected.

EDIT:
It's ok now, I found "Aligner" in the same menu. It works with that tool.
Thanks!

evenflcw
01-29-2005, 05:40 AM
Set Value would work pretty well for somethig like this too.

Kurtis
01-29-2005, 06:49 AM
Salem78,

Ok. Misunderstood your question.

Many tools, like Absolute Size and Center 1D will work on the entire layer, regardless of selection.

As evenflcw said, if that's what you're trying to do, Set Value is your best bet. You can select your point, and then set it to any point on any axis using the numeric field. You can find Set Value under the Points heading of the Detail tab in Modeler. You can use Set Value on a selected polygon(s) as well as a selected point(s).

Salem78
01-29-2005, 09:00 AM
ah, yes set value works better...thanks!