PDA

View Full Version : Weight Maps, What for?

madjester
01-27-2005, 06:37 PM
Okay I have a question...

How many people, speaking towards the more experieced members here, use weight maps for animation deformation?

Speaking from personal experience I cannot get weight maps to deform in a predictable mannor, being picky about how each poly is deformed I thought weight maps would be the perfect solution. I use tons of weight maps for texturing, which they work great for, but they seem to distort unpridictably for animation.

I have recently given up weight maps and found that the strength and limited range features work really well, though sometimes requiring one extra bone to get the best results.

For alittle referance on my question I am a college student, I taught myself LW back in high school and find it better than Maya, which I have classes in.
I'm worried that when I get into the 'biz' in a few years, my lack of skill with weight map animation may hurt me (Though I'm mostly a modeler anyhow).

ericsmith
01-27-2005, 07:21 PM
In the right circumstances, weightmaps can work very predictably. I tend to use them for things like fingers or elbows, where it's difficult to maintain volume without them. Then, on areas like shoulders, I use hold bones that help mimic real biology and skeletal structure.

The nice thing is that the situations where I use weight maps are also the situations where they are very easy to create.

Eric

WilliamVaughan
01-27-2005, 07:54 PM
I dont use them for fingers or elbows but I do use them to seperate the legs from each other. Also weight maps rock for surfacing, Sasquatch, and of course....dynamics! :)

SplineGod
01-27-2005, 09:41 PM
I tend to avoid them because its very easy to complicate a simple task with them.