PDA

View Full Version : Adobe Audition or Sony Sound Forge?

goodrichm
01-27-2005, 10:15 AM
Between Adobe Audition or Sony Sound Forge which one out of the box gets the job done and has best/easiest work flow?

Sound Forge is $100 more than Audition, but reading specs on the net they both seem to be similar in features and capabilities. What does SF offer for the additional $$?

I'm just getting started in VT4 video post pro & 2D/3D animation and need a program for audio sweetening, music tracks, etc.

My main software so far consists of VT4 SP1 with LW 7.5, DVDWS2 SE, Mirage 1.2, TMPGEnc Plus 2.5, and PhotoImpact 8. My PC is a dual 2.8 MHz Xeon, 1 GB RAM with Win XP Pro SP2.

I've asked this on another forum, but I'm still sitting on the fence post between these two programs! Like most folk, I want something that does it all, but at same time is easy to get results. If there's a better program out there, please let me know too! Thanks...Mark

Cobalt
01-27-2005, 10:40 AM
I couldn't tell you why there is a $100 difference in price, but I can tell you I have used versions Sound Forge since the last century with great results and much satisfaction.

Red_Oddity
01-27-2005, 10:52 AM
Well, if Audition is as user friendly as the rest of their line up, i wouldn't touch it with a ten foot pole...besides, Audition is actually Cool Edit Pro, but only with a heftier price tag...

Sound Forge is very user friendly, boasts a lot of options and just feels a whole lot more professional...

Or you could just keep your money and try some of these free alternatives :
http://audacity.sourceforge.net/
http://www.digidesign.com/ptfree/

Orimar
01-27-2005, 11:36 AM
Hi goodrichm: