PDA

View Full Version : in conclusion

illegal
04-15-2003, 02:48 PM
the way it went was like this:

I was trained on how to use lightwave in school, but have never purchased or used the software outside of class. I'm just a regular person without work involving the program so I can hardly justify a couple thousand dollars for a hobby. I am a traditional artist, not a natural 3D artist. I would give my left foot for a concept artist position and would almost turn down any offers to work in 3D. It's just not as fun for me personaly. It's fun, but I love drawing, always have. It just so happens that I'm pretty good with Lightwave.

The company required assets that needed to be created in 3D. In order for me to accomplish the same look without using a 3D program would have taken me at least a couple of weeks using Photoshop, so I told them the only way to do it is to use a 3D program and asked if they would purchase the license. I wrote them several reports stating the reasons for the PO and asked them to purchase the software for my station so that we could expand our in-house development. Since I was in the marketing department, and not R&D, they didnt' think it was worth it.