PDA

View Full Version : Considering Lightwave for the Mac

hound312
01-22-2005, 01:27 PM
I have been seriously considering getting Lightwave for my Mac. I've used it briefly in the past at a contract job (version 5.5) on the pc and I really liked the modelling tools. I'm not a novice at 3D, having used 3D Studio Max at work, mostly on mechanical type animations. I want to get an animation program for my mac at home, so that I can start learning more about character animation, with the eventual goal of creating a short film. Lightwave seems to have the features and options I want, but many people on this forum seem dissatisfied with Lightwave, especially on the mac. So I want to know any user experiences on the mac. Is it stable and do the features work as advertised? (I've used 3DS Max, so I know these programs have their share of issues, but does it work overall in a production situation on the mac?) Secondly, is it suitable and can it hold up in a real world situation for creating character animation? Lastly, do you like working with Lightwave on the mac? Also, guys the mac is my platform of choice, so please refrain from telling me to buy a pc because Lightwave is faster on the pc or something like that. (I've had similar responses on other software forums. I'm not bashing pc's or anything, but I like the mac platform, so buying a pc is simply unrealistic.)

Thank you for any thoughts you may have.

David

policarpo
01-22-2005, 03:10 PM
What kind of Mac do you have?

JackDeL
01-22-2005, 03:29 PM
I'm still using 7.5 on OS X and have had a (mostly) trouble free experience. There have been a few issues, but only the Modeler bug under 10.2.5/6 (fixed by ATI) was a serious deal breaker. (so far) :rolleyes:

hound312
01-22-2005, 11:10 PM
I actually just upgraded to a Powermac g5 2.5 with the ATI Radeon 9600XT and 2gigs of ram.

hound312
01-22-2005, 11:11 PM
Sorry, forgot to mention that I am using OSX 10.3.7.

Whit
01-23-2005, 08:27 AM