PDA

View Full Version : Modeler Selection Bug (8.2)



Chingis
01-21-2005, 01:00 PM
I'm surprized that no one has mentioned this as it has been a bug since at least
version 8.0. Maybe it's only me having the problem.

Recreation------

Open up a model with a bunch of polygons. It doesn't necessarily have to be a high poly model.

zoom in on the model so just a few polygons fill the window.

do a polygon paint selection and run your mouse over the polygons several times.

Zoom out

You'll notice that a bunch of random polygons got selected that were outside of the view.


This is an extremely annoying bug. Please fix it.

By the way, I just tested this on 8.2 and it's still a bug.


Chris

bloontz
01-21-2005, 02:51 PM
I've seen this reported a number of times but it doesn't happen to me so I think perhaps there is some factor like gaphics card driver or something that may be causing it. Maybe if you can find something in common with others having the problem you can help the developers nail it down.

Caligo
01-25-2005, 10:07 AM
This happens to me also. What it "seems" like it's doing is not correctly identifying which polygons are in front of where you've positioned the camera(or whatever you want to call the perspective view). It's annoying, do you know how many times I've deleted half of a mesh when I only wanted to get rid of a couple of polygons? Had this problem in 8.0.1 and 8.2, don't remember if it was in 8.0 also.

tiler
01-25-2005, 12:32 PM
happens to me alot in 8.2

Librarian
01-26-2005, 12:28 PM
I'm surprized that no one has mentioned this as it has been a bug since at least
version 8.0. Maybe it's only me having the problem.

No, not only you http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?t=31948

Tesselator
01-26-2005, 02:07 PM
I don't think it's a bug.

I think you're hitting the precision limits.

For example if your object is 10km and you
zoom up to a 1mm grid where there are still
polys contained in the window and try selecting.

That's just a guess tho.

I've heard about this psudo-bug for several
years now (about 3) and yet I've never been
able to reproduce it even when I try really hard.

If you use the zoom widget or ctrl+alt+RMB Drag
LW will prevent you from zooming beyond it's
internal limits. This BTW, seems to have improved
in 8.2 so me thinks the code around this was touched.

Again just a guess.

:cool: