PDA

View Full Version : Split Bones Broken!



Chris S. (Fez)
01-18-2005, 10:01 PM
Found a showstopping bug. Split Bones is now useless. Tried it with "parent in place" turned on and off and it still scatters bones across Layout. Sometimes it works, most of the time it does not...can someone else please confirm? Thanks.

nemac4
01-18-2005, 10:34 PM
I ran into a problem like that the other day,.. being an ortho user before it was added to lw8,.. I still had some of the old plugs installed. The fix was to use the new plug - bone split - rather than the old one,... split bone.

Chris S. (Fez)
01-18-2005, 11:00 PM
Did you try it? I am using the new one and it is not working. It worked fine before I installed 8.2.

nemac4
01-18-2005, 11:10 PM
I'm on a win2k PC. Works fine here.

Chris S. (Fez)
01-18-2005, 11:19 PM
Thank for replying. I really appreciate it. Can you tell me if it works with a skelegon setup?

nemac4
01-18-2005, 11:22 PM
OK,.. after trying a more complex rig,.. I'm having the problem too. When I split with colinear it bumps the next bone down the z axis but it works fine with spline interp.

Chris S. (Fez)
01-18-2005, 11:24 PM
"but it works fine with spline interp"

I thought so too. But believe me it does not...at least not on my system. Again, sometimes it works. Try it out on a complex hierarchy.

nemac4
01-18-2005, 11:28 PM
The problem seems to be related to parent in place. Even when I disable PIP,.. it re-enables after I split a bone.

Chris S. (Fez)
01-18-2005, 11:34 PM
So we've got a confirmed bug for Newtek to squash?

I should have mentioned before that I am running Windows2000 too. Maybe that is it? Ouch. I use this all the time.

"Snakes, why'd it have to be snakes..."

"Bone Split, why'd it have to be Bone Split..."

nemac4
01-18-2005, 11:37 PM
yeah,.. it does suck,.. but it's not too hard to fix ,.. just subtract the z of the split bone from the z of the bone on the end. A pain,.. but it works. :(

Chris S. (Fez)
01-18-2005, 11:53 PM
Good to know there is a workaround (thank you), but this is really a rather ridiculously obvious bug IMO. I don't like the idea of having to wait months and months for a fix for a tool that yesterday I could use without a care...

nemac4
01-18-2005, 11:57 PM
Agreed,.. which makes me wonder if it's something else that is the problem,.. who knows. I'll try it on my XP laptop in a min.

ok,.. same thing on XP

Chris S. (Fez)
01-19-2005, 12:16 AM
OK. Thanks for checking.

DavidL
01-20-2005, 07:07 PM
I'm seeing the same thing. I'm a relatively new user so at first I thought it was a setting somewhere I was missing. But I guess not. I tried with lots of bones and just a few, also tried the same with skelegons. Same result everytime, it splits the bones and then scatters some of the others. By the way, I'm running XP.

private
01-21-2005, 06:22 AM
After reading these posts, I tried and also had a similar problem. I trust you reported the bug to Newtek. Thanks for the heads up.

blabberlicious
01-24-2005, 08:59 AM
After reading these posts, I tried and also had a similar problem. I trust you reported the bug to Newtek. Thanks for the heads up.


Anyone get any feedback from NT?

I'm really struggling to understand how this gets released broken.

How rigourously do you have to test a feature with only one function to discover it doesn't work?

???

Dodgy
01-24-2005, 10:00 AM
Presumably no-one touched this tool while updating 8.2, it was something else changed in the code (since they're re-writing the core) which affected this and no-one thought of this. Since no-one touched it, no-one thought to check it. Thus it came out.

toonafish
01-24-2005, 10:24 AM
same problem here.

Robi
01-24-2005, 12:32 PM
Presumably no-one touched this tool while updating 8.2, it was something else changed in the code (since they're re-writing the core) which affected this and no-one thought of this. Since no-one touched it, no-one thought to check it. Thus it came out.
I guess someone has touched it, 'cause bonetools from 8.01 are working with LW8.2 :)