PDA

View Full Version : Cap on Number/Size of image textures?



Telvin_3d
01-14-2005, 12:39 PM
Hey everyone, I am relatively new to Lightwave, and am not sure what I am doing wrong, or even if I am. :confused:

I recently started a project that is intentionally texture heavy, mostly using UV textures. Now, I am about 1/3 of the way through texturing my model, and Lightwave will not allow me to Load any more images. At this point, I have 20 images, totalling almost exactly 50 Mb. I am wondering if there is some sort of internal cap on either the number of images that can be used, or on the total file size. Now, so far I have been using mostly loss-less image formats in order to preserve quality, but I can shrink the size somewhat. In the same way, I could consolidate a number of the UV maps. On the other hand, if I am just missing something obvious, I would rather not have to.

Any help you could give would be much appreciated.

lasco
01-14-2005, 01:30 PM
Hi Telvin,

According to the manual there is no "internal cap" in LW.
The max you can load depends on your platform and of course
especially of your RAM.
Few things that can help though :
1/ The number of images you have should be the latest thing
you have to take in count and in any cases 20 images are really not
that much I think.

2/ What counts more is the resolution of the images you have,
which determinates their whole weight in RAM

3/ When you talk about 50 Mb in whole do you speak about
the FILES weight or the RAM weight ? Only the RAM weight is
important, don't forget this : a JPEG file for example, even with a
good quality compression, has oftenly a weight of 10% of the weight in RAM,
sometimes even less.
I mean that even if a file is light because it's compressed when
you open it (or load it in LW) the weight will generally be heavier
and will be the same whatever is the compression format you have.
This weight only depends on the resolution (number of pixels),
the channels (24 or 32 bits generally) and sometimes the layers (PSD files).
However 50 Mb of images in RAM is not that much, but if you
talk about 50 Mb of JPEG files it could mean that in RAM they
take between 500 Mb and 1 Gb !

The best thing you have to do is in the Layout, hit "w" to open your statistics
window and see the amount of RAM used by your images (whole amount is
given), as well as the RAM used by the geometry (polygons), and you'll
see if you need to reduce the size of your images orů buy more RAM !

Telvin_3d
01-14-2005, 01:54 PM
I have been using 16 and 24 bit .tga files to avoid any compression artifacts in close-ups. As far as I know, Targa is an uncompressed format, so the size it takes up in RAM should be close to the base file size. The files themselves are fairly high resolution, anywhere from 500x500 to 1500x1500. 16 bit for the b/w files (bump/spec/etc...) and 24 for the colour.

And it isn't an issue with displaying the texture or slowdown or anything like that. It just doen't accept it. When I go to load the next image file, I select the file, click OK, and then the file browser window closes and nothing happens. The same thing happens if I go through the Image Editor window. Lightwave acts like I never selected anything at all.

Fozz
01-14-2005, 07:54 PM
Try loading in some textures with a different format, like BMP or so.
Btw, does LW handle 16bit textures as bumpmaps?
Thougt only 8bit were used.

Telvin_3d
01-14-2005, 09:12 PM
They have been working great so far. For all I know, LW is simply converting the B/W images down to 8 bit for its own use. It is only that Photoshop at least gives no option to do .tga files at a lower bit rate than 16.
And I am having the problem with the colour channels just as much as the others

[EDIT]
Found the problem. Almost all of my earlier textures were 24 bit, and it seems LW likes them just fine for everything, but will not take a 16 bit in any way shape or form. Thanks all