PDA

View Full Version : Should you Subpatch everything??

ant_sutton
01-13-2005, 10:02 AM
Hi everyone.

I'm fairly new to lightwave and have mostly been modelling cars (or trying to).

I have a wooden box, and I have rounded the edges and then subdivided it (cutting it into four equal parts). When I subpatch (tab) it only rounds the edges slightly more than if I leave it without subpatching. Therefore, is it okay to leave objects such as wooden boxes, stones, bricks unsubpatched or should I always subdivide and bandsaw then subpatch?

Thansk alot

Anthony

LFGabel
01-13-2005, 01:19 PM
Rule of thumb: It depends ;) Often you use subpatches for organic shapes or objects where rounded parts are clearly seen. Subpatches are not usually needed for inorganic shapes. However, you can mix the two.

For a box like you describe, I'd forget about the subpatching, and adjust the smoothing angle, if needed.

So use your best judgement.

SplineGod
01-13-2005, 04:07 PM
If its not going to deform I would freeze it.

spec24
01-13-2005, 07:43 PM
However, you can mix the two.

speaking of that there used to be a great tutorial on the web about just that - blending a subpatch edge into a flat polygon. Anyone remember where that tutorial is???

SplineGod
01-13-2005, 08:33 PM
Basically you use point weights on the common edge.

ant_sutton
01-14-2005, 05:07 PM
hi.

Thanks alot for your help guys. What does freezing actually do?

Telvin_3d
01-14-2005, 05:13 PM
It takes the mesh that subpatching generates and turns it into real geometry. Basically, it keeps the details of subpatching, but without the subpatch. It can also be a nice way to generate more geometry when you need it. On the other hand, it makes it much harder to edit the base model, and it canít be undone.

I normally use it only when I need to have more direct control of a model for animation reasons, and know that I am not going to be doing any more modifications.

SplineGod
01-14-2005, 05:57 PM