PDA

View Full Version : New Bone Tools Trouble



G3D
01-12-2005, 10:31 AM
I think NewTek purchased a set of bone tools called OrthoPak or something like that and incorporated them into LW8. I don't do much bone/ik work but decided to give the new tools a try. Bone_Twist seems to have a problem where certain selected bones will disappear and red and green lines go from the bone's pivot to infinity. I've opted to use the old school method of adding an extra bone at the joint to avoid gimbal lock. I got the impression that the new tools saved some of those extra steps.

In the meantime is this a known bug or am I misusing the tools?

TIA

nemac4
01-12-2005, 11:56 AM
The new bone tools are just for setup and rigging,.. not for animating. So make sure you do your bone editing at frame 0.

G3D
01-12-2005, 12:33 PM
I was writing about set up.

In any event, I heard on CGTalk that the problem is a known bug on the Mac platform only and won't be fixed until 8.2 is released. Its ok on the PC, though.

Thanks.