PDA

View Full Version : Dongle Emulators ever legal?

3dstudentnz
01-11-2005, 10:18 PM
Hi there,
I was a student at a multimedia course, and one of the software packages we were taught was Lightwave 5.5. This was on Mac OS9. There was no USB dongle, and when you started lightwave a 'Rainbow dongle emulator' splash screen popped up.

My question is, if there was NO hardware dongle attached to the computer, was the software illegal?

Mylenium
01-12-2005, 12:04 AM
Not necessarily. If you own a software legally, it's pretty much up to you how you get it running. Perhaps it was simply a computer with no or a defective USB port. Or the USB ports were occupied. I also seem to recall that the USB on older Macs was not fully usable for anything other than the keyboard, mouse and Apple's own products, so it could have been a compatibility problem as well.

Mylenium

anieves
01-12-2005, 06:53 AM
Back in the 5.5 days the Mac only had ADB dongles and maybe that was the reason, not enough ADB ports and no hubs that could be attached to it either...

GruvSyco
01-12-2005, 10:32 AM
If you own a software legally, it's pretty much up to you how you get it running.

That is incorrect under most circumstances. It would depend on the license applied to the software... you don't "own" software, you pay for the right to use the software. This is ultimately a question best answered by the manufacturer of the program, in this case, Newtek. Perhaps the school have an agreement or approval from Newtek or... more likely, they are running it illegally not neccessarily without having paid for licenses.

tonsofpcs
01-12-2005, 10:51 AM