PDA

View Full Version : Elephant walk help?

digartisan
01-10-2005, 10:14 AM
I'm trying to animate a realistic elephant walk in Lightwave. I still think it doesn't look realistic enough but I'm unsure why. I didn't do the model and rig, I'm just animating it.

Can anyone give me some feedback or suggestions?

Here are links to quicktimes of the side and camera views.

http://www.digitalartisan.com.au/elephant

- Lor.

wellsichris
01-10-2005, 10:54 AM
first you have some really nice things going on in the animation. I'm not a pro at animating elephants, but it looks like the timing on the weight of the animal is a little off. it seems like your sinking down because of the weight is just a couple of frames to soon. and the back end of the animal doesn't move as much. if you tracked the nub where the tail is attached it is a line. so maybe put some weight back there aswell. also, your feet. generally things step with their heel and the heels impact forces the front of the foot down... some sections look better than others and it's obvius this is what your are trying to do but on the elephant it seems his feet are turning in the air right before they hit the ground. and then they hit the ground flat footed. it's not every time and it's hard to tell for sure, Like i said though it looks really good, hopefully those little things will make it more realistic.

chris

TheDynamo
01-10-2005, 11:48 AM
After looking at both the profile and camera view of things and drawing forth the rusty remains of zoo memories ;). I can suggest that your walk is too smooth, like the elephant doesn't weigh too much. If you add a more forceful impact for the steps by removing a couple of frames (making it faster) and perhaps using the extra frames to pause the leg once it's landed it would give the elephant a more ponderous nature.

-Rob

Axis3d
01-10-2005, 08:00 PM