PDA

View Full Version : Newb Question.

jfoley37
01-07-2005, 01:54 PM
Hi all, I'm new to the board. Hopefully I will look back on this first post of mine (this one) and say, "what a fool!".

I am also new to LightWave.

So without further ado, my first question is (I guarantee there are more to come ;) ):

When I Extrude, I am in Polygon mode, I select a single polygon... and thats it. How do I actually extrude it. I clicked and dragged on it, clicked and then clicked and dragged again, clicked holding various buttons, etc...

What am I doing wrong?

Ok, let the laughing commence!
This LW newb appreciates your advice!

Thanks,

jfoley

jfoley37
01-07-2005, 02:03 PM
ok, I got it going.. I must have accidently hit another btn and been stuck on a different tool ever since. :(

lunarcamel
01-07-2005, 02:04 PM
Did you select the polygon then choose 'extrude' under the 'polygon' menu?

Edit: Hehe, good you figured it out. I remember going crazy a few times then realizing the shortcuts weren't working because Caps was on - duh :rolleyes:

jfoley37
01-07-2005, 02:13 PM
Thanks lun...

another question.. when I extrude, it looks like the normals are always flipped backwards. Is there a way to prevent this?

If I bevel instead of extrude, the normals are correct...

jfoley37
01-07-2005, 02:21 PM
Can anyone suggest a good beginner tutorial?

lunarcamel
01-07-2005, 02:26 PM
Well typically I would only use extrude on a flat shape. Otherwise I'd use bevel or better smooth shift.

Tons of tuts here: http://members.shaw.ca/lightwavetutorials/Main_Menu.htm

And many people in this forum can recommend dvds etc for modeling.

jfoley37
01-07-2005, 02:48 PM
Is there a universal keyboard shortcut that exits any tool and goes back to selection mode?

jfoley37
01-07-2005, 03:16 PM
Let me rephrase that.. whats the shortcut for selection mode?

toby
01-07-2005, 11:17 PM
Is there a universal keyboard shortcut that exits any tool and goes back to selection mode?

Yes, it's called the MANUAL!