PDA

View Full Version : Newb in trouble



spartan2
01-07-2005, 07:36 AM
Hi,

I am trying to create a twisted object, which i have done successfully, the problem I am now having is there is no bottom to the shape and I cant figure out how to put a bottom on it:

http://212.67.202.201/~trib1/problem.jpg

I just want it to be a smooth bottom that follows the shape but im overwelmed by all the options availble I just dont know what to do :(

I have alos finished with the overall shape that I want and when i put it into the layout program there are points around the shaft, but i dont know what is causing them or how to get rid of them:

http://212.67.202.201/~trib1/problem2.jpg

mattclary
01-07-2005, 07:38 AM
Select the points and hit "p" on your keyboard?

spartan2
01-07-2005, 07:43 AM
I tried that.. but it only creats a polygon across a few of the points...

spartan2
01-07-2005, 07:54 AM
Here is the result i get when using the "make polygon" option

http://212.67.202.201/~trib1/problem3.jpg

The edges arnt smooth and it doesnt look very good at all :(

Would it be wizer to start from scratch with a top and a bottom in place on a solid shape before twising and bending etc?

mattclary
01-07-2005, 07:55 AM
Try using the setvalue command to put them all on the same plane. Alternatively, you can use the knife tool a little above the bottom, delete the polys on the bottom, then make a poly from the points at the knife cut, as they will all be planar.

mattclary
01-07-2005, 07:57 AM
As to the extraneous points: Merge points, open the polygon statistics panel, delete all 2 point polys. Open the point statistic panel and delete all points that don't belong to a poly.

BeeVee
01-07-2005, 08:05 AM
It's because he's using a subpatch object. Subpatches can only have three or four points. There is a tool in LightWave 8 called Make Pole (in Modeler, it's in the Multply tab in the Subdivide section, in the More sub-menu. This will create an array of triangular polygons to your outside edge. These polygons might look a little "pinched", so you can use Fix Poles to help (Detail tab > Polygons > More > Fix Poles).

B