PDA

View Full Version : Select Loops

WhiteBoy
01-06-2005, 11:29 PM
I've been searching the web for hours, but I haven't found a single reference to any similar problems. I'm still quite new to LightWave, so I'm probably just doing something really stupid, but please bear with me.

Anyway, I'm having difficulties with the Select Loop tool. I have included some images of a simple example scene to help illustrate the nature of my problem.

I start out with a cylinder, and select two adjacent points at the top. I then press the Select Loop button expecting to have all the points on the top selected, but to my frustration, nothing happens. However, it works when I select polygons.

The first attached image shows the two points selected. I could be wrong, but shouldn't the whole top ring of points be selected when I select the Select Loops tool? I am almost positive I have done it before without problems.

The second image shows the two selected polygons. The third image shows the result of the Select Loop tool after selecting the polygons, and it works perfectly fine. Why doesn't it work with points?

I didn't notice this until last night. So I downloaded the 8.0.1 update today expecting the problem to be fixed, but that didn't happen.

Please tell me I'm doing something completely moronic...

Thanks in advance for your replies!

colkai
01-07-2005, 02:11 AM
Very strange,
I use this all the time in point mode without any problems.
As you say, select one point, then another and hit "select loop" and it should grab the points. You dont have any 2-pt polys on that thing do you? if you select where a quad and 2-pt poly occupy the same space, I know it gets confused and wont work.

WhiteBoy
01-07-2005, 08:33 AM
Nope. No 2-point polys. And it's not just that cylinder shape that won't work either. It doesn't work with any shape.

Needless to say, this is incredibly frustrating...

mattclary
01-07-2005, 09:00 AM
How is Lightwave supposed to know which loop you want to follow?