PDA

View Full Version : double polygon surprise

LOU-eeze
04-13-2003, 12:12 PM
This is my first post...

I've been learning Lightwave from the manual and ref books for 13 months....made my first almost complete model...now I discover that there are two layers of identical polys on the whole structure...
the form started out at 3,000 polys...subdivided to 12,000...then when I UV mapped it, it became 24,000...

Discovered the double layered polys when I tried to fix the mouth.
Did I press a wrong button or something? I began to select polys and delete them, then stopped. ...There must be a less labor-intensive way of fixing this problem?

Please help!

Epita
04-13-2003, 03:00 PM
well, there are 256 levels of undo in LW at max, time to find the U button.

Also if you havent been making back up saves, this is why!

Epita

LOU-eeze
04-13-2003, 03:30 PM
First of all I really got nervous having no answer to my first thread....So THANKS A BUNCH for writing..

I accidentally found out about the double polys...just yesterday.
Kept trying to see the image in Lightwave...to try and tweak the zeebra...

Noticed something wierd around the lips...there was a separation with light going through... Went back to Modeler...and discovered this double layer of polys on the whole shape.

I am a saving freak...have always been, so I have many versions of this thing...

Trouble is...There are so many new modeling tweaks since the duplication...It wouldn't be worth starting all over again...

I was hoping there might be some tool in Modeler to identify the double polys.... just highlight 'em and DELETE...If not? I have one really big fixing session ahead of me....

Since I have no idea of how these layers occured...I'm sure it may happen again...Maybe I wasn't using the tools correctly?

THANKS ANYWAY!
:)

meatycheesyboy
04-13-2003, 03:49 PM