PDA

View Full Version : Help Despirately Needed!

mjroddy
12-30-2004, 06:51 PM
Ok... I'm SERIOUSL frustrated right now, so if I come across negatively, I humbly beg your indulgance. I'll try and maintain.
LIGHTWAVE STOPED WORKING! AARRRGGGHHH!
I'm a bit of a newbie, but know enough to get around and what LW should and shouldn't do.
Right now, I'm staring at a half-opened instance of LW Modeler that is "Not Responding." From experience (I've been at this for about 8 hours) I can say that if I End Task 8-9 times, it will go away. Then I have about a 25% chance that the next time I open it will work. Then, it chuggs away slowly - not like it was behaving last week, which was sweet. THEN, it won't send anything to Layout; everything in that pulldown is grayed out. I'm getting a LOT of warnings from my bloody NORTON SECURITY ALERT telling me that Worm Protection has detected a remote system that is attempting to access my computer. That file name is Hub.exe. I tell it to permit. I do that 6-8 times and then I get LW not responding.
On top of this, both Modeler and Layout take MINUTES to open - IF they open at all.
I just uninstalled LW and re-installed. Then downloaded 8.0.1 and installed that - twice. Nothing is working for me at all. This is mighty irksum, I gotta say. Any suggested help?

nemac4
12-30-2004, 07:04 PM
Turn off norton's firewall. I've found that software firewalls cause a lot of problems. If you really need a firewall, I'd suggest getting a router with one built in.

mjroddy
12-30-2004, 08:39 PM
I actually never installed Norton's Firewall.
Thanks for the thought, though.

Silkrooster
12-30-2004, 08:51 PM
Everything you stated in your other post suggest a firewall problem. Whether it is the built in firewall of windows or an add on fire wall. Which Norton product is on your system?
I suppose it would be a good idea for you to post what OS your using and build #.
Silk

mjroddy
01-01-2005, 09:24 PM
Hmm... Very odd, that bloody firewall suggestion.