PDA

View Full Version : Character rigging + weight map questions - pics inside

Arcturus
12-29-2004, 10:35 PM
I just completed a model of this robot:

http://www.markschumann.com/robot/robot.jpg

This is the first time I've tried to rig a character. Basically I want all metalic surfaces to not distort at all while the accordian-style areas distort when sections are moved. I placed bones within the legs for a start, with smaller bones within the "bendable" sections. I gave the metallic areas a weight of 100%. When I bend one of the knees I get heavy distortion to the other leg and surrounding surfaces:

http://www.markschumann.com/robot/legs.jpg

I'm sure there is a simple solution, but bear in mind I'm a total newbie at rigging / weight maps, etc. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. I would be happy to supply the object/scene files if someone could show me a good way to rig this character, in fact that would be even better :)

Arcturus
12-29-2004, 11:02 PM
I think I figured it out :) I had used a single weight map for all metallic surfaces. I should have renamed each one with a weight of 100%. I have another question though, what would be the best setup to bend the knee realistically. At the moment it seems to bend without distorting the metallic parts, but the bendable area doesn't seem to distort correctly. Here's a pic to show you what I mean, I have a small bone in there, should I put it another way?

http://www.markschumann.com/robot/knees.jpg

Mipmap
12-29-2004, 11:25 PM
To bend the knee you might try a weight map on the middle part of that rubber stuff that is 100% in the center and falls off to 0 at the edges so it will keep its shape like its attached to the nonmoving metal and will bend and stretch in the middle.

Arcturus
12-29-2004, 11:38 PM