PDA

View Full Version : Crash VT 4 in 8 easy steps (and here they are)



Ivan
12-15-2004, 08:14 AM
This is a little out of the way but I can get CG to crash everytime by doing this. It's not often that you will do this sequence but when you do it will shut down VT4 so here goes. Paul, are you listening?

In Character Generator:

1. Type in 2 lines of text, it can be anything
2. Clone the Page
3. Open the Layout Tab and Select both lines of text in the Layout window
4. Hit the Delete key on your keyboard (the lines of text now overlap)
5. Click on the "Arrow" button next to the "T"
6. Hit the Delete key on your keyboard
7. Click on the "T" button Next to the "Arrow" button
8. Reboot VT because it just crashed

I know some of you can do it in less steps but can you name the steps so it can be reproduced?

Ivan

JReble
12-15-2004, 02:41 PM
Thanks. I've been trying to crash mine and now I have the instructions. :D

bradl
12-15-2004, 04:02 PM
cool... me too. That whole CTRL-V-T thing is too slow! ;)

Actually I know a few more ways if you want them. Hopefully this new patch will help some of the bugs...

Ivan
12-15-2004, 04:26 PM
Brad,

Did you send them in? Where? I kinda hate posting this but I know Newtek is watching and one of the next versions will have this fixed so I'll have to find a new way to crash it.

Ivan

Rich Deustachio
12-15-2004, 06:32 PM
I can also make it crash using the CGcreate on the timeline and hitting the delete key . For some reason the CG doesn''t like that key.

Paul Lara
12-16-2004, 06:18 AM
Paul, are you listening?


Why, yes, I am Ivan!
Thanks for the reproduceable steps. This is greatly appreciated.
I'm sending this on to testing now.

Paul

Paul Lara
12-16-2004, 06:19 AM
I can also make it crash using the CGcreate on the timeline and hitting the delete key.

I'm pretty sure this bug has been squashed for SP1, Rich.

bradl
12-16-2004, 07:39 AM
Did you send them in? Where? I kinda hate posting this but I know Newtek is watching and one of the next versions will have this fixed so I'll have to find a new way to crash [email protected] is where I email most things, but there may be a bug report email, I'm not sure.

Ivan
12-16-2004, 07:44 AM
Thanks Paul. My experience with Newtek has always been that if the bug can be reproduced at will, the development team can fix it. Keep up the good work.

Ivan

Rich Deustachio
12-16-2004, 11:43 AM
I'm pretty sure this bug has been squashed for SP1, Rich.

SP1 is a patch that will be released soon Paul?

Paul Lara
12-16-2004, 04:32 PM
Next week, Rich!

Rich Deustachio
12-16-2004, 09:01 PM
Thanks Paul! :D