PDA

View Full Version : The BEST MOBO for VT3 is... (with Intel E7505 Chipset)



eon5
04-11-2003, 11:15 AM
Help please!
I need to configure a new workstation.
Tkx in advance

pd: more info about
http://www.2cpu.com/hardware/motherboards/e7505/
http://www.linuxhardware.org/article.pl?sid=03/04/09/1555235&mode=thread

robewil
04-11-2003, 11:34 AM
At this point, I think only Newtek people could give a real answer to this. It would be speculation for anyone else.

Gordon
04-11-2003, 07:01 PM
I think Newtek wouldn't be in a position to answer this. It would require each system and a Toaster card and AFAIK, neither NTI nor anyone else has every motherboard mentioned.

At least we can vote to let you know that the systems test out okay with a Toaster. I put up my vote for the Intel motherboard. No install nor config problems with it and the Toaster.

tmon
04-15-2003, 05:54 PM
I am also curious as to what MOB's people have had success with from this list.....P4DC6+ was the king up to and through T[3].

I wonder which one is best for VT[3]?

Gordon
04-29-2003, 07:56 AM
I think that I will have change my opinion to NOT recommend the Intel motherboard (SE7505VB2) for three reasons:

1. It doesn't have built in SCSI options
2. It doesn't have a 64bit 133Mhz PCI-X slot to take advantage of the Adaptec U320 SCSI controller that would use a 133Mhz PCI-x slot if available.
3. It has only four memory slots.

When compared to the SuperMicro motherboard, (X5DA8 E7505), on a dollar for dollar basis the SuperMicro board provides more.

Gordon
04-29-2003, 09:29 AM
Of course there is still the problem with the 'special' SuperMicro Power Supplies.

I have had three out of five Supermicro Power Supplies blow up within one year of use. Not only are they are the most expensive power supply made, they are also proprietary which means when one blows up you can't just replace it with another from a local supplier.

vip3dran
04-29-2003, 09:42 AM
Originally posted by Gordon
Of course there is still the problem with the 'special' SuperMicro Power Supplies.

I have had three out of five Supermicro Power Supplies blow up within one year of use. Not only are they are the most expensive power supply made, they are also proprietary which means when one blows up you can't just replace it with another from a local supplier.

Hmmmm
Funny you should say this. We just went through replacing our power supp following a blowout after only 2-3 months of use with a new installation on P4DCE+ mobo. And you're right about not being able to find one from a local supplier.

What's up with that?

Gordon
04-29-2003, 12:55 PM
At least Supermicro seems to have stuck with the 'new', (for the next couple weeks anyhow), standard power supply called 'EPS12V'. This is the same power supply as all the other dual Xeons use and is more readily available.

eon5
05-07-2003, 09:04 AM
Gordon: what about Iwill DP533 -S ?

http://www.2cpu.com/albums/iwill_dp533/dp533_011.thumb.jpg

Supports dual Intel Xeon processors with 533 MHz system bus. Supports processor speeds up to 3.06 GHz.

1 x 8X AGP Pro slot
1 x 64-bit PCI-X/133 MHz
2 x 64-bit PCI-X/100 MHz
2 x 32-bit PCI/33 MHz

Gordon
05-07-2003, 08:08 PM
I have not tried any IWill board. Just the same I think I will take another look at it to see how it compares. There is a lot to be said about a 'tested and proven' board by someone who is not trying this for the first time. Is this IWill's first dual Xeon?

Gord

Doran
05-08-2003, 02:14 PM
I got my PS from CompUSA... it works fine.

sbrandt
05-10-2003, 03:44 PM
Doran...
...so how much do you get for your mice?
They're really cute!
Do they taste like chicken? :)

Gordon
05-11-2003, 09:37 PM
I got a chuckle from this one when reading the IWill review:


Like I have mentioned many times in the past, Intel likes to change power supply requirements when they change chipsets, ..... Just suck it up, buy a new power supply and quit your whining! :-)

It's like they read my previous post and it was meant for me :)

Gordon
05-11-2003, 10:30 PM
Concerns about the IWill board:

1. There appears to be a chip with heatsink right behind both 32 bit PCI slots. With the Toaster in one of those 32 bit slots it will be getting extra heat from that heat sink. Probably not good for the Toaster board components.
2. IDE 66/100 - why not 133?
3. Not enough information on the motherboard wiring in regards to PCI-X data paths. Intel makes a big deal about the data paths being independant and that you do have three total independant paths at different speeds controlled by different chips. This may be the case here also but it is not listed in the manual or tech specs that I could find. If you are not concerned about using a 3Ware card and only using the built-in SCSI channels of the 533-S model then this may not be much of an issue.

Actually, that heat sink at the end of the PCI 32 bit slots where the Toaster card would go is almost a show stopper. Toaster components already get too warm and need cooling to keep the audio from popping so I wouldn't go with this board unless I was able to add fan cooling to the Toaster card. This would likely require a case mod.

The built-in firewire ports are nice as are the four USB 2.0 ports. This leaves the other 32 bit slot free for something else.

Videolink
05-12-2003, 03:04 PM
25 VT systems on supermicros and counting
Dual Xeons
no problems
Bruce

deandec
06-19-2003, 07:17 AM
I've got the Tyan 2665UNF. On board SCSI. Works great! BUt it does require the EPS12V special power supply.

Videolink
06-19-2003, 04:57 PM
ooooooooooooohhh!
Dual Opterons!
http://www.msi.com.tw/program/products/server/svr/pro_svr_detail.php?UID=441&MODEL=MS-9131
:D

deandec
06-19-2003, 05:55 PM
That's a server board. Has built in video which isn't too good. No AGP slot.

Videolink
06-19-2003, 07:32 PM
Actually there are some very capable PCI video cards still around
and with that kind of power,
well I'll let you know how it performs once we build it
You'll learn after a while it pays to try different combinations when building monster workstations

sbrandt
06-22-2003, 11:55 AM
Take a look at the thread called... "ATX 2 Xeon PSU converter"

Ryan Brady says he's running an Antec PS using 4 of the 8 connectors, and it works just fine.