PDA

View Full Version : note about LW 8.0.1



cc3d
12-10-2004, 06:12 PM
I've been a LW user since before the toaster and I've got a screaming fast machine, but I notice that in LW modeler 8 and 8.0.1 when creating the simplest polygon (i.e. 15 points selected in a loop and hitting P to create a polygon) there is about a 6 second wait until anything happens. Anybody else get this?

THX

mrunion
12-10-2004, 07:48 PM
What's your system specs? Also, the first thing I would look at is video drivers. I had an nVidia 5600 FX and the drivers cause it to be SLOW when I used certain versions. I had to use an older version of the drivers to get adequate speed on some things.

cc3d
12-10-2004, 08:32 PM
Intel PIV 3.4 ghz
Win XP SP2
2 Gb RAM
GeForce 6800 GT (just updated drivers)

Notice it on my 3.05 ghz system too. This is only one of a few things I noticed that gets slow. Rendering seems as speedy as it should be, large mesh handling is good.

colkai
12-11-2004, 03:17 AM
It's got to be your video drivers.
I just created a ploy from 50 points in the blink of an eye on my XP1800+ with FX5200 card.

I do run LW on an old PIII-550 with a lowly Elsa Erazor X2 and the modeller is painful on that, simply because of the drivers being old.

SplineGod
12-11-2004, 03:30 AM
Thats because the new make poly tool is not the same make poly tool. The new one allows you to select points using the lasso tool and doesnt create funky polys. Its also slow and doesnt deselect the points aftwards. The old make poly tool is still around....I forget at the moment where. :)

Titus
12-11-2004, 10:06 AM
That's weird cc3d, I just created 15 point and hitting P key I got a polygon instantly. I'm using a slow machine.

cc3d
12-11-2004, 10:56 AM
I've tried this on another system with an FX5200 also and get the same sluggish results. I can believe that it is due to a new algorythum, perhaps something in XP SP2? I did notice the lasso tool working for the make polygon command.

mrunion
12-11-2004, 09:10 PM
Not XP SP2 -- I've got it and things are fine.

Like the others said, there is a new "Make Poly" tool that is taking some other things into consideration. Maybe switching to the "old" one will make a difference? Both are included with 8.0.

Check and see what the verticle sync setting is by default for your vid drivers. I recall having to force it OFF to get some speed improvements on some things.