PDA

View Full Version : Can anyone help me to get the VTNT running

RetroDistortion
12-08-2004, 05:39 AM
I guess I'll post here asking for advice on the VTNT since Newtek hasn't answered either one of the two e-mails I sent them this month asking for their advice.
The story is that I bought a Video Toaster NT brand new a couple of years ago and what I thought I was buying was a stand alone editing system but what I got was a VTNT PC card, a cable and 5 manuals. Now keep in mind I am a filmmaker not a computer guy. I contacted the seller and told him that this isn't what I wanted but he replied "Oh well, you should've done your homework before you bought it because I'm not taking it back. Sell it on ebay or something." I was going to install it in my computer but it was too small and slow to run it. I then checked into computers that could run it and they were over $3,000 and I found out that I still had to buy over $3,000 worth of SCSI drives to support it. I don't know about anyone else but I couldn't afford to spend the $3,000+ on a board, cable and manuals let alone $6,000 to $10,000 on a system to run it. I was working as a Retail Asst. Manager making $27,000 a year with a wife, new born daughter, a house, two cars and all of the bills that go along with it so I didn't have any more money to spend on an editing system. I waited a year and a half before I had enough money to sink into the computer but I had one built. I was assured that it would work just fine but it didn't.