PDA

View Full Version : Toaster Crash while recording.

bklock
12-02-2004, 07:11 AM
I am new to the toaster world. We saw Paul Lara demo the unit at Weva, and I thought that this would be just perfect for some new business we were getting. Just bought a VT4 Live bundle for our business as we are doing several conferences for some of our area's large businesses.

I was doing one last night, Very simple setup... 4 live camera feeds via composite inputs. A static logo loaded into DDR3. A static background in DDR2. Using DDR1 to capture Program Out. No CG's or any DSK stuff at all. The swithching was all just simple fade stuff.

Fortuantely I made it through the enitre presentation. As the conference closed the producer asked for us to show a shot of the room emptying while people exited. I loaded up a PiP DVE to put the logo in the corner. After transitioning out of the PIP, the toaster locked up.

Obviously I am concerned that the Toaster locked, but even more importantly, when I got back in there was NO evidence of the capture I was doing in my DDR. One of the major selling points to my client was the Direct Digital capture capabilities.... now I have no digital file. Fortuantely I had a DVD-Recorder as backup... but now I will have to apture from it and try to explain the compression artifacts.

Is there any way to recover a 'lost' recording? Is there some temp file somewhere that I can find?

If I use the chop function in the DDR, will it drop frames? Now that I had this happen, I am more likely to chop periodically, but I can't sacrifice any frames.

Thanks
Brian Klock
STC Productions

Jim Capillo
12-02-2004, 07:23 AM
I am new to the toaster world. We saw Paul Lara demo the unit at Weva, and I thought that this would be just perfect for some new business we were getting. Just bought a VT4 Live bundle for our business as we are doing several conferences for some of our area's large businesses.

[snipped]