PDA

View Full Version : Pricing query - advice needed please

adrian
11-29-2004, 05:57 PM
Hi,

I have a potential client who wants me to video a fitness weekend and then edit it to 3 DVDs. Obviously I will be doing everything, including creating effects for the final video.

Question is, how much should I charge for this?

I have never done paid professional work before so I really don't know what to quote. I don't want to price myself out of the job but then again I don't want to quote too low either.

To clarify: I would be filming the whole thing over the course of a weekend, editing and creating the DVDs myself.

Any advice from you pros out there would be much appreciated.

Thanks,

Adrian.

koots
11-29-2004, 10:53 PM
i would say do this one for very Low. Basicly what is the lowest amount you will do this for... I only say that because you do not have any video's that you have done yourself. or nothing else to referance. If you do this is it goes great you will have a repeat customer, and he may even tell a few of his friends what a great job you did. and some of them might want to use you as well. Then you charge a little more... so on and so on. If you charge an average amount and your customer still thinks you did a good job, he might not talk about you so highly or to as many people. In the begining you have nothing to show him or wow him about being so good. So the only thing you can show him is price. If you want to make a business out of this, I would say that is your best bet. Hope this helped... sorry about any spelling or grammer. i am really tired and need to get some sleep... Too much work and I want to wait for this render to finish... good luck!
-Jonn

badllarma
11-30-2004, 12:58 AM
mileage 40 pence a mile
Tape , meals accmodation at cost
Shooting DV / DVcam (all the gear lights reflectors etc.. if needed) 300 - 1000 per day
Editing / DVD creation 25 - 50.00+ per hour

I would firstly ask yourself if you are up for this? :eek: