PDA

View Full Version : 300 dpi resolution question



userBrian
11-28-2004, 10:38 PM
I want to render a 3700 pixel by 2700 pixel image that's supposed to
be submitted at 300 dpi. Do I do the 300 dpi thing in photoshop or does
lightwave do it? Thank you. Its for a challenge entry. My first.

robewil
11-28-2004, 11:20 PM
Most image formats do not contain information of the printing size (dpi). If your client wants to see the image already formatted as 300 dpi, then yes, load your image into Photoshop, set the dpi in Image Size and make sure you save the image as a PSD file. If you save it as a jpg or png file, the dpi setting won't be saved as again, this information is not part of the file information.

userBrian
11-28-2004, 11:34 PM
Thanks robewil. They want a TIFF file, TIFF (ftp), not sure why the file transfer
protocol stuff is mentioned,but I can ask them. For the Grand Space Opera
challenge at cgtalk.com .They want to print a book.
My Entry (http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?t=179803)

Avebeno
11-29-2004, 12:37 AM
Did they ask specifically for a 3700 pixel by 2700 pixel image?

ingo
11-29-2004, 01:59 AM
Since they ask for the specific pixel size thats what you have to render, forget about the 300dpi thingy, those guys are a bit ****. BTW, thats the first time i have heard that Terragen and Bryce are parametric modellers, weird. Looks like an overdose MAX ;)

userBrian
11-29-2004, 02:24 AM
They asked for a 2657 pixels wide by 3636 high and 300 dpi. And they
added " To be safe, render images that are larger than these specified".
Thats why I decided on 2700 by 3700. I did a test render yesterday and
when I saved that pixel size in Photoshop at 300 dpi it came out to a regular
book size I'd say, I don't recall exactly but somewhere arround 9.5 by 12 inches
I think. I'm ready to go to sleep so I won't look it up, not important. But I felt it
was on the right track. I needed to be shure now because I started painting
on the backgroun tonight with my Wacom tablet, at the 2700 by 3700 pixel size.
Saving the layers as PSD and I'll save a TIFF final. Did a LW TIFF render originally.
Took 15 minutes and 49 seconds to render on my 3 ghz Dell. I have LW 5.6.
It's fun to paint on this size, the LW models render really cool in detail. New to me.

my 3d Grand Space Opera entry (http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?t=179803)

Exception
11-29-2004, 10:02 AM
Tiff knows about DPI's too. Just render out, set dpi's in photoshop, make sure 'Resample image' is off wheny up do it, resave as Tiff, done.