PDA

View Full Version : Box seems to stretch when I rotate it



rosferatu
11-24-2004, 02:54 AM
Hi all,

Just when I thought i was on a roll....

Ok so I have boxes with potential client logos mapped on the front and the back.
Now when I rotate them around the box seems to stretch as it spins. it goes from being a basically square box to a rectangular box.

Make sense??? I hope so, it really has confused me in a huge way. I suspect maybe the texture images need to be square shaped but I am not sure that maybe I am barking up the usually wrong proberbial tree.

Please help me Obi-wans you're my only hope hehe
thanks as always
-Ross

Dodgy
11-24-2004, 03:20 AM
Are they parented to something which is stretched itself?

rosferatu
11-24-2004, 03:31 AM
Hey there
thanks for the quick reply. and for your previous help!!!!
anyways, the box spins and the rotation on the P circle stretches as it moves. the box I made and imported from modeller without parenting . so basically...noooo
i have the camera below it looking up. but its weird. it shouldnt stretch like that. i bet its something really simple and i am gonna kick myself.
anyways thanks for the reply
-Ross

danilo
11-24-2004, 04:20 AM
Maybe symetry is on?
danilo

danilo
11-24-2004, 04:22 AM
Sorry,it is in layout,so no symetry.....
Next time I'll read.
danilo

rosferatu
11-24-2004, 06:00 AM
hmmm,
stumped
-Ross

mattclary
11-24-2004, 06:59 AM
Have you considered it is caused by a perspective shift? What does it look like from the top down? I assume they maintain their shape? Can you post screen shots?

Exception
11-24-2004, 08:21 AM
Rather stupid answer, but you wouldnt be the first:
Do you have a non- 4:3 monitor resolution selected?
Circles are eggs, boxes are rectangles and the eiffel tower is the tower of piza with those strange resolutions. Stick to 1024x768, 1280x1024, 1600x1200 and so on.

Lightwolf
11-24-2004, 08:26 AM
... Stick to 1024x768, 1280x1024, 1600x1200 and so on.
*ouch* 1280x1024 is _not_ 4:3, use 1280x960 instead (on a CRT).
On a TFT 1280x1024 is o.k., since they have a 5:4 aspect ratio.

Cheers,
Mike

rosferatu
11-24-2004, 09:38 AM
HI all,
Well it appears to be both a perspective problem and a resolution problem. Phew!!!!!!
Now onto my next problem LW 8 camera into After Effects.
You guys are just the best. I have now gotten into a phase where i am getting into a lot of c**P from my girlfriend as i basically dont wanna leave my little office/dungeon and go home. As frustrating as doing this at the bottom end of Africa is its great to know you guys are out there!
oh man your help rocks.
Thanks for sticking in there!!!!

Lightwolf
11-24-2004, 09:46 AM
I have now gotten into a phase where i am getting into a lot of c**P from my girlfriend as i basically dont wanna leave my little office/dungeon and go home.
Hehe, now that is bad news...
You can either:
a) try to show here what you're doing and hope she'll get excited about it too and starts to understand why you want to stay in the dungeon...
b) take her out, cook, do the dishes, whatever, make that woman happy every now and then :D
c) start thinking about celibacy ;)

O.k., LW8 camera into after effects:
a) render out a small test, (may be a box or so) using the RPF image saver (inthe image filters plugins list), that can store camera information and afaik AE can use that.
b) http://www.ats-3d.com/transmot/

Cheers,
Mike - and keep going :p