PDA

View Full Version : Video Toaster 4000



Airness1
11-22-2004, 04:43 PM
I have an Amiga A2000 system.
I dont know all of the exact specs but right now I have a video toaster installed in it. I have the video toaster software version 3.1 installed on it now. I have recently bought a video toaster 4000 card and wanted to know if the software which is version 3.1 I believe is diffrent the the software I have on my machine currently? Also I wanted to know how I can get the most up to date software for the amiga that newtek has out for its video toaster. Sorry if i asked too many questions. Just excited to work with this new machine and want to maximize what I can out of it.

travisr
12-03-2004, 01:36 PM
I don't believe the Toaster 4000 card will work in an Amiga 2000.

tonsofpcs
12-04-2004, 11:26 AM
The software *should* be the same for both, as me and my friend both have Toasters, he has a 4000, I have a 2000, and they both use the same disks. However, you may need to reinstall the software. The hardware compatability I am unsure about, but I don't read anything in the FAQs to make me think it wouldn't be compatable.

Ivan
12-04-2004, 02:19 PM
Toaster 4000 card will work in a 2000 and the software will install only the DVEs that work with the 2000.

Ivan

tonsofpcs
12-04-2004, 10:22 PM
Ivan -- does the reverse hold true (If i put my T2000 into my A4000, can i do the multi-color wipes?)

Ivan
12-04-2004, 11:15 PM
I don't think so. I am pretty sure that the T4000 card in an Amiga 4000 is the only combo that can do the color wipes.

Ivan

wilebill
12-05-2004, 12:50 AM
Just an FYI:

You have to re-install the software if you change your Toaster 2000 card to the Toaster 4000 card. There is more than just the color wipes that the software makes calls for.

The T2000 card will not physically fit into an A4000, so it won't work. Once you get a Toaster 4000 you wouldn't want to go back to a 2000 anyway.

tonsofpcs
12-13-2004, 08:10 AM
How won't the T2000 fit in the A4000?

wilebill
12-20-2004, 10:22 PM
The video slot is different in the A4000 from the A2000, I believe. But mainly, the BNC part of the Toaster 2000 card is bigger than the Toaster 4000 card, that's why the T4000 shipped with a BNC adaptor for A2000 or A4000.

You can, however, put a T4000 card in an A2000 computer with no sweat.

Airness1
12-27-2004, 11:37 PM
I have the Toaster 4000 installed on my Amiga A200o.
I didnt install any of the software because it is the same software version as I have and It seems to me from what I read that there is not real need to make a new software install. Since I have installed my 4000 card when I go to use the toaster software my screen just scrambles and doesnt do anything after that. It shows the toaster logo and then just scambles and never returns back to the software or the desktop. Any help is welcomed. I know nothing about my amiga but want to try and learn how to use my brand new tool the Video toaster. I live in the chicagoland area and cant find anyone who knows anything about the amiga and the toaster.

jkirkm
12-28-2004, 12:35 PM
Hi,

Did you check the jumpers? Are they set for 2000?


-Kirt

tonsofpcs
12-28-2004, 12:50 PM
From what I understand, you DO need to reinstall the software because there are different pieces loaded for each card. You can try asking on the forums at http://www.openvideotoaster.org/, people there may be able to help better.

wilebill
01-01-2005, 12:36 AM
If you switch cards from a Toaster 2000 to a Toaster 4000, you must re-install the software. The software is smart - it recognizes the installed card and installs the software components necessary for that card. Different cards require different software components.

billmi
02-22-2005, 08:00 AM
The latest release of the software is version 4.1, which includes the Flyer software. I liked this release over 3.1, because even though I didn't have the Flyer, I assemble edit sequences of stills for montages. It's also nice and simple to edit your own configurations of croutons into the editor interface - common CG and framestore pages can sit right on your project alongside transitions.

Yes, you will need to reinstall to recognize the change of boards, and the Toaster 4000 board will have to be physically reconfigured to install in a 2000 (unless it was pulled out of a 2000.) Instructions are in the manual explaining how to do this.

I saw a 4.1 CDROM on Ebay last week, but it was missing the floppy, it needs both the CD and a single floppy to install. Presently my Toaster 4000, and 3.0, 3.1, and 4.1 software as well as 4.1 manual are up on Ebay at:
http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&category=4598&item=5168112109&rd=1