PDA

View Full Version : Avid/QuickTime Codec

Crosscut
04-09-2003, 07:50 PM
Hello,

I have a need to convert an animation to Avid/QuickTime codec. Any suggestions (short of buying an Avid system) for software to accomplish this?

Thanks

Mylenium
04-10-2003, 02:04 AM
Just download the codecs from http://www.avid.com and install them on your system - it's as simple as that. But be warned: You have to know the compression settings of the final Avid-project, otherwise your files will be useless for the editing process. I instead suggest to use a standard codec such as Animation or Photo-JPEG - it will allow you to control the files on your local system and will give the editor the flexibility to import it as needed.

Before you ask - yes, I have been working on our Avid and even though I'm not really good at editing it is a very simple thing to import files.

Mylenium

Crosscut
04-10-2003, 08:36 AM
Thanks for the info Mylenium.

I will try the standard QuickTime. However, I would also like to try the Avid codec. Could you be more specific as to the location of the downloadable Codec. I have looked several times without success.

Thanks again.

Mylenium
04-10-2003, 09:28 AM
Somewhére in the support/ download area.... Sorry, they keep changing that permanently so you have to look it up.... Had some difficulty as well the last time I checked. If you can't find it, you could also ask your Avid System reseller/ supplier or contact Avid directly.

Mylenium

VWTornado
04-10-2003, 02:24 PM