PDA

View Full Version : Level Set renderer

titof
04-09-2003, 01:45 PM
Dear all,

I am new to lightwave and I was wondering if it had a levelset function renderer (I could not figure this out), or if other share that same interrest for such an addition.

best regards,
JC

Elmar Moelzer
04-09-2003, 01:49 PM
Whats that supposed to do?
CU
Elmar

titof
04-09-2003, 02:01 PM
Imagine you have a function phi(x,y,z) (as an output from an external program) such that phi(x,y,z)=0 defines a surface in space. well that would be super nice to be able to render that surface.
applications (at least for my work) are:
-1- rendering of skin produce by some of my code
-2- rendering of fluid flows (also from some of my external prog.) e.g. phi(x,y,z)>0 is water, phi(x,y,z)<0 is air and phi(x,y,z)=0 is the surface...

I realize this is pretty specific, but it has tons of potential applications when you think of all the problems that may be cast into such a framework.

best regards,
JC

harhar
04-09-2003, 04:55 PM
buy MatLab.

Elmar Moelzer
04-09-2003, 05:04 PM
I see, so you want some sort of procedurally generated objects in Layout?
If so, this is something that we (not only we but also some big studios, that do their own custom- LW- plugins) have been requesting for literally years.
It would enable developers to add geometry that is generated at rendertime, new SubDivisionSurface- generation- methods and much more.
CU
Elmar

titof
04-09-2003, 05:07 PM
I use Matlab, but... please ... don't compare with LW :)
anyhow, for transparency, light effect (rendering speed of animation) etc... I would love to be able to get thephotofinish quality of LW.

also, the field sizes I use are too big for malab while doing animation (24H/30frames !!! (P4-2.53))

thanks for the reply,
any other LW suggestions ?

best,
JC

titof
04-09-2003, 05:11 PM
Elmar,