PDA

View Full Version : MHO NewTek at NAB

theosmekhanes
04-09-2003, 12:58 PM
Hey wavers,

First let me say that this is not a rant, or a dig on Newtek, I'm I Lightwave fan from 5.5.

I spent 7 years in the top two art schools in the country and I have 6 years experience teaching.
The process of critique is essential to the growth of an artist, but for it to be effective, critique needs to be honest and the recipient needs to be open. that said...

I just came back from NAB, after a whirlwind tour I decided to see NewTeks booth. I must say that I was disappointed and honestly embarrassed for NewTek.

I don't expect NT to have anything like Apple or Adobe, I've heard the excuse on these board directly from NT Reps that NT doesn't have the resources :rolleyes: well... that's now really apparent.

NTs display consisted of a little patch of carpet with PCs arranged like the spokes of a wheel around the outside and a tiny stage on one side.

I won't comment much on the presenters because I don't want to hurt any feelings. All I'll say is "...Yawn"

I know that It's NAB and the focus is video, so I understand NT showing off VT and Aura, but in the grand scheme of things, these products don't have a snowballs chance in hell. Apple being on the same floor presenting FCP 4,and Shake 3 etc. made NT look like a lame duck.

IMHO Lightwave is the only relevant product in NTs roster, but at every step its given the back seat to VT :confused: .

Anyway, the 7.5b foul up really convinced me that Lightwave and the LW community would be better served if it was moved to a wholly new company and better management. In fact I think many of the Key LW people at NT came to that conclusion a long time ago.

Sorry NewTek, you have repeatedly dropped the ball, and scorned my loyalty ...goodbye

Hello Luxology!

Elmar Moelzer
04-09-2003, 01:30 PM
Hehe, you people are always so funny, really.