PDA

View Full Version : Spreadsheet crashes LW8



GregMalick
11-11-2004, 04:43 PM
This is weird:

Every time I call (Scene > Utilities: Generics > Spreadsheet) LW8 crashes.
Even a new scene. Anybody else had this problem? Any suggestions?

p.s. works OK for me in 7.5c

colkai
11-12-2004, 02:42 AM
search out your spreadsheet.cfg and delete it and see if that helps.
I have the odd crash due to spreadsheet myself, this usually sorts it

GregMalick
11-12-2004, 08:20 AM
Colkai, when I read your suggestion, I was convinced you were right.
But unfortunately, it still crashes.

Some folks on IRC suggested it might need an updated video driver
But this is the only thing that is crashing my LW8.0.1 so I'm skeptical.

colkai
11-12-2004, 09:03 AM
must admit - i'm running 8.0 so can't offer any insight there I'm afraid.
does it do it in a blank scene? or is it just in an existing scene?
If it is only in existing scenes, check the scene file nad remoe any reference to the spreadsheet from the master plugin area, (having copied your scene file firstof course ;) ).

GregMalick
11-12-2004, 09:14 AM
Even a new (N) blank scene can't call up the Spreadsheet Editor.
It always displays the panel for half a second and then crashes (shutsdown) LW.
As I mentioned, it works in 7.5c

prospector
11-12-2004, 09:47 AM
Same here
never been able to get it to stay open on either ATI or NVidia card.
New blank scene or full spread scene and objects.
And the other scene spreadsheet sucks (sorry Newtek)
when I check a box I want it checked and not have to go to another requester to click toggle and apply.
If I didn't want it toggled, I wouldn't have clicked on it in the first place. :mad:

SplineGod
11-12-2004, 11:14 PM
Try renaming your config files and restarting LW from scratch. The scene editor runs fine on my machine(s)

GregMalick
11-12-2004, 11:59 PM
Larry,

What a double edged sword!
Your suggestion worked.
But if I use the default, I lose all that neat customization I've done over the months.

Where that weeping icon? boo hoo....




ps. oh and thank you for your suggestion...it's appreciated.

SplineGod
11-13-2004, 01:20 AM
I agree, its a real pain. You might see if you can salvage your Tabs with this plugin called interface builder and load them into a new config.
http://www.learnlightwave.com/interface_builder.htm

Tesselator
11-21-2004, 02:09 AM
Larry,

What a double edged sword!
Your suggestion worked.
But if I use the default, I lose all that neat customization I've done over the months.

Where that weeping icon? boo hoo....

ps. oh and thank you for your suggestion...it's appreciated.


There was alot of talk about this 7.5 SS crashing thing when L8 was 1st
released. That might be it. The solution that always seemed to work then
might work here as well.

Create 2 shortcuts one for modeler.exe and one for lightwav.eve
Name them LW7.5 and Mod7.5 (or anything you want really - and
then open the properties panel and and make use of the config
location directive. Mine looks like:

G:\LightWave_3d_7.5\Programs\lightwav.exe -cG:\LightWave_3d_7.5\Configs

Now create a folder inside the x:\LightWave_3d_7.5\ named "Configs" and
move your config files for L7.5b into that folder.

Then just always start LW by the shortcuts and you'll be ok. To ensure that I
do I also add a hotkey to the shortcut properties panel. Here"s my panel for
LW8


Note: in the Japanese OS the root "/" foreslash character shows up as a yen
mark so just replace that with the proper foreslash "/" key if you decide to use
this solution