PDA

View Full Version : Vertexpaint bug or just my mistake?



Ge4-ce
11-03-2004, 12:07 PM
Ok, this is what I have done and encountered. Maybe it's a Mac problem, but I don't know for sure.


-I have NO weights or Maps at all on my model

-I go into Vertex Paint, to paint the weights with each bone,

-But I do NOT let vertexpaint calculate the weights automatically.

-Instead, I start painting right away bone by bone by bone

-I save, and close vertex paint

- There is not a single weight in my model!!! If I open vertexpaint again, I have to start over again!

Should I CALCULATE automatically in order to save the weights afterwards? Or are the names for the weightmaps only given when you do a calculation? and is that why I can't save them?


I'm going nuts around here.

Never had problems with this before!

You may ask why I do not simply press calculate? Well I hate to correct all the mistakes this auto-function makes. Especially with the fingers of my model. any tips for this one?

Dodgy
11-03-2004, 04:30 PM
Did you click 'Yes' to save to Vmaps when you quit vertex paint?
I'll assume you did :)


Well it works okay for me, but I am on the PC.

Try saving them manually with the file menu in vertex paint if that doesn't work.

Love your sig :)

Ge4-ce
11-04-2004, 02:45 AM
Now that you mention it, it didn't ask me at all if I wanted to save the vmaps!!

weird.. but I noticed now that it does when I do an automated calculation first.

But maybe I should save it from the menu.

Thanx a lot!