PDA

View Full Version : Rendering with Lightwave - How to et a good MPEG2 file later.

Cunhambebe
11-02-2004, 12:13 PM
Hi there. Some people around here may already know I am a newbie. So, this time my question (s) is (are) how to render the right way with Lightwave. After setting a scene, I set may camera options at NTSC 720x480 and on the render guide, I select save animation as AVI uncompressed and RGB files as Targa 32. I hope this is the right way to render files with Lightwave (I know you can choose Quicktime, etc...). The AVIs seem so perfect as well as the Targa sequence files. Unfortunately, as soon as I try to render the outcome as MPEG2 with Vegas' Main Concept Built-in MPEG encoder as well as with TMPGEC or even Canopus ProCoder, things start to go out of control. I mean, I get a lot of banding on video. Let's see this:

1.If I render the AVi file as MPEG2, the MPEG 2 is darker but I don't seem to get those bandings.

2.If I render the Targa sequence, I get those bandings.
I tried every configuration possible with those 3 encoders (Canopus, TMPGENC and Main Concept). I also tried modifying the camera options for 720x486, despite the fact the result was the same = banding.

I know this may be a problem with those MPEG encoders. Canopus showed to be the worst at even the highest bitrate; TMPGENC was better, and Main Concept, for my surprise was the best at 9.800 kbps. Please take a look at hose pics.

What I'd like to know....
1.Am I doing something wrong while choosing those settings with camera and render with Lightwave?
2.Are those bandings normal because MPEG encoders cannot follow Lightwave excelent render capabilities?
3.Why rendering an AVi file as MPEG will result in a darker video and why rendering a Targa sequence will result in the inverse, a clearer video file?