PDA

View Full Version : Secondary Monitor + VT-Vision

Jaffro
10-19-2004, 09:45 AM
Hey people,

I'm a student and i've been landed the task of fixing our VT[3] after the previous run of technical tutors couldn't seem to get it working properly. (stupid i know!) Well i've solved almost all the problems they were having bar one...

Basically the VT-Vision window doesn't play on the secondary monitor, it just freezes on the last frame it was on in the primary monitor.

Its not hooked upto the net so its a bit annoying trying to update video drivers (but if anyone thinks this will work i'll get onto it). The current drivers are the 56.72 nvidia ones (its got a Quadro4 580 XGL card), i've already re-installed it once after trying to access the advanced display options it would come up with a "catastrophic failure", re-installing has solved that. I was hoping for something like advanced openGL that solved some LW multimonitor problems a while back, but no luck (unless i'm just looking in the wrong place?).

Any insight or info would be really helpful. I'm sure during its early days the vt3's vt-vision worked on the secondary monitor.

Any suggestions would be great. If you need more info just ask pleassseeee.

Many many thanks guys,
Jaffro

Jim Capillo
10-19-2004, 10:06 AM
Well, the first thing you need to do is turn off the NVidia Desktop Manager. That eats up resources.

Span the video across the monitors at 2560 X 1024. That should give you access to both monitors.

I've (and a few others) also had problems with certain drivers. For a long time, I ran 45.33 (I think).

Any other hints as to what's happening?

Ivan
10-19-2004, 10:18 AM
I think your idea to make the screen 2560 x 1024 should do it. It sounds like they are not spanning the monitors.

Ivan

Jaffro
10-19-2004, 11:16 AM
Ah yea, thats a good idea. I dont think it is spanning, i'll look into it tommrow when i go back into college. Sounds like that will be the solution to me - seems to make sense.