PDA

View Full Version : idea for a game

KPS
10-14-2004, 03:45 PM
If someone has an idea for a game how whould you go to have it made?
I'm not a programmer, but there should be a way to submitt your ideas to companies that will produce it. Also what is the best way to submit an idea for a game to get it copyrighted??

Thanks.

Jeff

Lamont
10-15-2004, 09:43 AM
There is no way to submit an unsolicited idea to a game company, it would be quickly shreded for legal reasons. And anyone can copyright something, it involves a lawyer and some $$$.

If you have an idea for a game, and you have no $$$, no programming exp and no team. The best way to whet you whistle is to make a mod. Quake and Unreal are great platforms and are heavily documented. I have not gotten too far into the Doom 3 editor, but any kind of game is possible.

Even if you do know a good programmer, it's still better to mod existing technologies than to write an engine from scratch. Way too much time will be lost, time that could be spent adding to proven techs. You will get better results in a quicker timeframe, and you could do it with a 2 man team. Unless you know how to do decent programming, then you can do it by yourself.

If you want to make a game and sell the sucker, buy Torque. They are there for the Indie game developer.

shaol
10-16-2004, 02:07 PM
I agree with lmont, the game world is very hash when it come to games. So mod is the best way to go.

KPS
10-16-2004, 03:32 PM
I don't know much about mods, so I will try to find someone that can help me on this project.
Thanks for the reply. :D

Lamont
10-16-2004, 08:13 PM
If you don't have Unreal Tournament 2004, pick it up, and make sure it's the DVD version. It has about 15+ hours of tutorials. That's more than enough to get you started. Although you can not make entire levels in Lightwave, you can make all the props and do the character animation in it.

KPS
10-16-2004, 09:20 PM
That's great Lamont, I will try that.
Thanks for your help.