PDA

View Full Version : Character Studio

Paul_Boland
10-13-2004, 11:49 AM
Hi.

Many years back when I was in my search mode for a 3D graphics package to do some rendering (this was before I invested in Caligari TrueSpace), I was exploring all the 3D packages available and it came down to two; NewTek Lightwave and Discret 3D Studio (I settled on TrueSpace because it was a good easy to use package for beginners and it was more in my price range). Anyway, Lightwave had a huge pull on me because being a Star Trek fan, I loved the work I was seeing Lightwave produce every week. However, 3D Studio had one thing that really caugth my attention every time; Character Studio.

The years have moved on, I'm quite good at 3D now, using TrueSpace 5.1, and I'm still learning. And I have a saving fund going, I will become a Lightwave 8 owner next Summer if all goes well :D . But I've always kept my eyes on Character Studio.

Recently, in an issue of 3D World magazine, I recall seeing a review for Character Studio for XSI!! I couldn't believe it! 3D Studios prize claim of "only for 3D Studio Max" has moved on to another piece of software. I still like what I see in Character Studio and was wondering if this marked the start of a trend where the software would be migrating to other 3D packages? If so, has anyone heard any news about it being ported to Lightwave?

Castius
10-13-2004, 12:01 PM
Character studio is not used by XSI they have there own prebuilt rigging system similar to character studio style but its there own. CS was bought by discreet so we will to be seeing CS in any other apps. There are lots of free and commercial rigging tool available to LW these days. So that is not as big an issue as it used to be. Plus LW8 add some nice new future to help rigging and animation. They have along way to go but the tools added are very usefull.

cresshead
10-13-2004, 05:45 PM