PDA

View Full Version : Considering LW; is it a good package?

snickelfritz
04-06-2003, 10:38 PM
I've been using Infini-D for 6 years, and have decided I need something a bit more advanced.
Is LW a good choice for OSX?
Any major problems or concerns on the Mac?

The machines I have are:
1ghz G4/OSX(10.2.4)/768MB
AthlonXP 1900/WinXP Pro SP1/512MB

Which platform would be the better choice for this software? (I prefer to work on the Mac if there's no problems)

cheers,
snick

Darth Mole
04-07-2003, 01:12 AM
The latest verison of LW comes with a 'duo dongle' so you could install and run it on both machines (swapping the USB dongle between sessions).

Despite some of the comments and concerns on this board, LW is a good, solid 3D package. And moving from Infini-D (which I used for a year or two), will feel like someone removing a strait jacket! Just make sure to jump in at v7.5.

LW offers a different way of working to Infini-D, but I picked it up quickly, and it's a damn sight easier than the likes of Maya or Cinema.

Your Mac will run LW okay, but the final render may not be so nippy; a dual-processor machine is a better bet. Also, if you can afford more RAM, fill it up!

snickelfritz
04-07-2003, 03:48 AM
Thanks Darth,

I'm starting to wish I had sprung for the DP, but I'm pretty happy with this machine after working all those years on my pokey 7600.
I'll go ahead and add a couple more DIMMs.

loebek
04-07-2003, 04:27 AM
LW is it a good package?

NO! LW is NOT a good package....
Its a "kick your butt" package!

the best thing I like about LW is the great learning-curve, GUI und the good community.

cu
loebek

snickelfritz
04-07-2003, 04:58 AM
Now this is the kind feedback i like to hear before dropping big bux on a program!
Thanks guys.

BTW, This community does seem very friendly and helpful; I'm sure I'll be spending a lot of time here in the near future. :)

Johnny
04-07-2003, 07:47 AM