PDA

View Full Version : Pendelum motion

AlphaBeta
04-06-2003, 10:05 PM
Hi guys im sort of a newbie to this forum and this is my first thread so bear with me...

Ok, recently i got assigned a project from physics class, and to make a long story short, I ended up wanting to show the motion and swing of a pendelum in lightwave....I've been using it for a couple of months now, but I am not sure how exactly I should do this....I want it to look realistic and so it swings back and forth accelerating at the beginning and than slowing down and accelerating in the other direction.

I tried to simply keyframe the motion but it turned out very nasty..

If anyone knows any tricks on how to do this it would be VERY appreciated......thank you

Heimhenge
04-06-2003, 11:22 PM
You'll never get it to look good with manual key framing. Try using an expression for the motion. Here's an example you can play around with. Put the pendulum bob in the XZ plane. Parent it to a null located at the origin. Then use an expression like:

30*sin(2*PI*Time)

to drive the H-rotation of the null. The "30" tells you how many degrees it will swing to either side of rest, and the "2" factor adjusts the frequency of the swing.

If you want to scale this so that the pendulum length comes into play, you'll need to scale the expression for the acceleration due to gravity (9.8 m/s/s).

AlphaBeta
04-06-2003, 11:25 PM
so where do i put the expression in?

sorry...i'm not to familiar with scripts and all this animation stuff...I just know the basics....

Heimhenge
04-07-2003, 12:54 AM
Select the object you want to pendulate (like the null to which the pendulum bob is parented) and go to Graph Editor. Select the relevant Roation channel and add the expression.

You will find that, for physics type simulations, a mastery of the Graph Editor is essential. It's well worth your time to play around with this feature as it is one of the most powerful tools in LW.

AlphaBeta
04-07-2003, 09:41 AM