PDA

View Full Version : Character on a tight rope?

Slash5
10-05-2004, 08:29 AM
Hi,

Can someone please put me out of my misery. I want my character to walk on a tight rope, but I'm puzzled as to how I animate the rope to bend under the characters weight. Morphing doesn't seem like the way to do it and I'm kinda new at IK, but something tells me that IK is how is this done. Am I right, if so, can you give me an idea of what to do? Or at least point me to a tutorial on this. I'd rather not have to buy a plugin, so if it can be done in lightwave that would be great.
I figured there's got to be an easy to accomplish this, cos animating each bone in the rope would just be silly.

I'm using Lightwave 7 if that matters.

Thanks for any help or ideas,

Slash5

gjjackson
10-05-2004, 10:22 AM
Hi,

Can someone please put me out of my misery. I want my character to walk on a tight rope, but I'm puzzled as to how I animate the rope to bend under the characters weight. Morphing doesn't seem like the way to do it and I'm kinda new at IK, but something tells me that IK is how is this done. Am I right, if so, can you give me an idea of what to do? Or at least point me to a tutorial on this. I'd rather not have to buy a plugin, so if it can be done in lightwave that would be great.
I figured there's got to be an easy to accomplish this, cos animating each bone in the rope would just be silly.

I'm using Lightwave 7 if that matters.

Thanks for any help or ideas,

Slash5

I'm wondering if the Spline Animate feature wouldn't be helpful

Silkrooster
10-05-2004, 05:22 PM
What about using reverse dynamics apply cloth to the rope and apply collision to your actor. By moving your actor down the rope should move with it. Just a theory.
Silk

Slash5
10-06-2004, 12:18 PM
Thanks guys,

What's the Spline Animate Feature?

I've tried the cloth collision effect, but it doesn't seem to be the answer.