PDA

View Full Version : State of mac developments at NEWTEK

Ade
04-05-2003, 08:48 PM
Hi I am fairly new to lightwave and love it.
I am reading though alot of bad press about the state of mac support for lightwave.
Alot of ppl seem to be discontent and discouraged due to the state of mac development and evolution for Lightwave.
I hear many programmers have left for Luxology which in turn is why our update to 7.5b was delayed.
Can NEWTEK comment on the status of the mac development team and their goals thy see in the future to improve the PPC version of lightwave?
I just upgraded my mac to run lightwave faster, and have allocated money on the side to purchase LW8 when its out.

Who makes up the mac LW team? How many ppl?
Is it just Chuck? or a series of ppl?
Maybe u guys could allocate a mac LW beta tester team?
Would help prevent 7.5b recalls from happening again?

wapangy
04-05-2003, 10:20 PM
I second that.

Ade
04-06-2003, 12:00 AM
Chuck is a pretty open minded guy maybe he can shed some light?

Johnny
04-06-2003, 06:48 AM
Here, too..

I'd like some kind of a basic road map as to when we can expect things to work properly, and when we can have feature parity with the Windows version.

Seems there are a couple of big things which don't work which others can speak of, but I am most sabotaged by that funky Hub!

It seems like a pretty basic thing and ought to function.

J

Ade
04-06-2003, 08:40 AM
Yes a road map is more to our likings.
Right now it seems like us mac users are like, we wait till newtek team has some spare time they work on the mac version as if it werent a priority.

Does Alias or maxxon do the same or are they more voicetrous with their mac roadmap?

personally i want Lightwave to be the 3D app apple markets on their web sites.

An idea -
Why doesnt Newtek release a FREE benchmark app specifically made for DP and altivec on a mac, sort of like maxxons cinebench.