PDA

View Full Version : Video Toaster on Mac OS X

Patrick Flasch
04-05-2003, 03:53 PM
Being a long time Avid / Final Cut user... and given the fact that I'm a "Mac Guy" (also a Certified Mac Tech)... wouldn't it be GREAT if NewTek was working on a Mac version of Video Toaster!!!???

Is this just wishful thinking??? or can we start a wave of support for a Mac version!?

Patrick

Paul Lara
04-05-2003, 03:55 PM
Since VT[2] makes heavy use of DirectShow functions within windows, it would be a monumental effort to port over to MAC.

Patrick Flasch
04-05-2003, 04:01 PM
:( ... OK, but where there is a will...... and a hope...

But, UNIX is the vision of the future!! Just ask Sun or Silicon Graphics!!

OK, I'll just keep hoping!!

Patrick

wvp
04-06-2003, 05:35 PM
another great reason not to use mac

Patrick Flasch
04-06-2003, 07:03 PM
OK... not trying to start a "flame war"... BUT, I'm a Certified Mac Tech... but I have have certs in Dell, HP and have studied for my MCSE but never took the actual test!

In my experience, whenever I hear a remark like that, it's because the person usually does not have any experience with the current Macs, or OS X!

I've been doing computer support for more than 15 years, I'm I'm the first to admit that BOTH platforms have various strenghs and weaknesses!
The Mac is simply one of the best graphics computers (not including the higher end HP, IBM & SGI) for the money!
With that said, I must also say that within the last year or so, Motorola (Apple's CPU manufacturer) hasn't kept pace with the Intel / AMD side as far as RAW CPU speed goes... but that is just one variable in the "big picture"! Apple is a RISC platform, Intel Pentium & AMD are still CISC. CISC is not as efficient as RISC, thus requiring much faster CPU speeds to accomplish the same number of instructions to the CPU. From Intel, the RISC chip for the desktop is at least a year away... and then all of the software vendors must recode! NOT an easy task!!