PDA

View Full Version : New Function In Lwsn ?



lasco
09-29-2004, 08:11 AM
Hi,

Let me just share with you a very cool new exiting feature of LWSN :
MIXING SCENES while rendering !

I explain : as you know when you render an
animation the best way to save computing time is
to separate your scene in "parts", depending of the
camera position.
Then if you render for example :
- Scene 1 : frames 0 to 50
- Scene 2 : frames 50 to 150
etc.
you should delete items that are out of the camera angle of
view in each scene, and then save RAM as well as time
during the rendering process.

I did this few days ago, and setted 2 "parts" of a same scene :
- Scene A1 : frames 200 to 260
- Scene A2 : frames 261 to 340

Just look at the images below,
you see that there is a building on the very right of the
frame 311, and that this building is not seen by the camera
on frame 250. That's why I deleted the building (as well as other
items like lights and trees) in the FIRST scene (frames 200 to 260).

But of course I never deleted these items from the SECOND
scene (261 to 340).

Though as you can see on frame 312, these items are not rendered,
I'm sure I did not mistake because I just launched the 2 scenes
at the same time in the LWSN render queue, and discovered
this after the rendering was made.
But what makes me even more think that LWSN MIXES scenes
is that this error "only" happened on about 1 frame on 4
for all the second scene. Which means that around 25 frames
were like this but not the others.
I guess this is because only one of the 4 nodes of my network
mistaked and loaded the camera path of the second scene
(rendered the good frames)
but the objects of the FIRST scene !!



Now that's the third very serious bug I meet with LWSN, during the last
3 weeks I already wasted around a hundred hours of computing with bugs
and crashes.
Do you folks think that one day NT sells us a real network rendering
engine or what ?

ps : Please don't tell me to try some Spider or Amleto third part,
I do think these are ADDITIONAL featuring plugs and consider this
differently than buying a tool, Lightwave, that does not work itslef.
In other words I don't find regular at all to have to try / learn /
buy third parts ONLY because LWSN is nothing but toy.

pixym
09-29-2004, 08:20 AM
VERY STRANGE
:eek:

JML
09-30-2004, 12:05 PM
weid problem..
screamernet is okay but and I really hope NT will bring a decent network rendering program..
it's crucial for a 3D program!

how do newtek want to have more production companies choose lightwave when you have to buy a separate network controller to render ?!
LW network controller is useless (unstable and very very limited)

we use tequila scream here but I wish newtek will make a good controller with
lots of options,
I don't think it's that hard to do !

Matt
09-30-2004, 12:38 PM
Let me get this right in my head:

Scene A1 : frames 200 to 260:
Doesn't show building/trees on the right so you deleted them from the scene.

Scene A2 : frames 261 to 340:
Does show them so you left everything in the scene.

But when you rendered the scenes out 312 - 337 of Scene A2 (the one with everything in it) was missing the buildings on the right? Leaving you to think (quite rightly) that ScreamerNet mixed up Scene A2 with Scene A1.

Hmmmmmmm ... that isn't right.

I know ScreamerNet loads objects at render time so you could change an object while ScreamerNet renders out one frame, and the object will be different in the following frames - but that's if you change an object from a scene being rendered.

Having separate scenes should avoid that issue. I'd say that's a bug.

ScreamerNet does indeed need an complete overhaul, for example; you can't even scroll through the list of queued scenes when rendering has started, it blanks the box out!!!

That's just one of many problems with it that annoy me!

Triple G
10-01-2004, 11:34 PM
Is it possible that the bad frames are all coming from 1 or possibly more machines which are somehow looking at different config files than the rest of the nodes or possibly have a different content directory? If that's not it, I don't know what to tell you...it does seem like a bug.

I know it's not what you want to hear, but as others have stated....LWSN is just not well-suited at all for big-time (i.e. IMPORTANT) work that needs to be completed under deadlines. It's flakey to set up, and is extremely limited in it's features...i.e. you can't dynamically add or remove nodes, no dynamic scene submission (you have to queue everything up at once and then wait until they're done before submitting more jobs), you can't automatically check the status of rendered frames, etc....the list goes on and on. At work, we've been using Deadline (http://software.franticfilms.com/index.aspx?page=deadline) from Frantic Films. It's not exactly cheap, but you totally get what you pay for...it's full-featured and very reliable. If Newtek would get on the ball and add even just a handful of features found in render controllers such as this, I know that would make a lot of people very happy....myself most definitely included.

lasco
10-02-2004, 01:10 PM
Let me get this right in my head:

Scene A1 : frames 200 to 260:
Doesn't show building/trees on the right so you deleted them from the scene.

Scene A2 : frames 261 to 340:
Does show them so you left everything in the scene.

But when you rendered the scenes out 312 - 337 of Scene A2 (the one with everything in it) was missing the buildings on the right? Leaving you to think (quite rightly) that ScreamerNet mixed up Scene A2 with Scene A1.

That's exactly what happened, you understood well…





I know ScreamerNet loads objects at render time so you could change an object while ScreamerNet renders out one frame, and the object will be different in the following frames - but that's if you change an object from a scene being rendered.

Yes il you open and change the object in the Modeler while LWSN is rendering,
but of course I did not do that…




you can't even scroll through the list of queued scenes when rendering has started

yes, that's curious, just like the fact of touching a window was able
to crash the rendering process… kind of things that lets you think that
the tool is not very strong.



Is it possible that the bad frames are all coming from 1 or possibly more machines which are somehow looking at different config files than the rest of the nodes or possibly have a different content directory?
No that's just impossible, I never touch to any config files, never do anything
else than LWSN rendering with these machines, and besides if the issue comed
from what you suggest I'd have it everytime, while that result only happened
with this rendering.
And of course I only have ONE Content directory, no mixing possible on that point.

kevman3d
10-18-2004, 01:34 AM
Ah yes, seen this problem before on our Renderfarm a few times. Some bits of one scene mixing into another. Usually rebooting the nodes and resubmitting the frames resolves the issue.

This would seem to indicate that nodes have a memory leak somewhere as it tends to happen when nodes have been extremely busy for a while - The farm starts to play up, renders go 'odd' (or appear black) and wierd things happen like mixed images, or node lockups. Shutting them down and restarting always seems to fix most problems...

Nice to know someone else has similiar issues and not just us.

Triple G
10-18-2004, 01:49 AM
It'd be even nicer if these problems didn't occur in the first place... :D :rolleyes: