PDA

View Full Version : canopus codec



burn
09-20-2004, 05:20 AM
hi,
is the canopus codec supported by VT[3]?
thanks in advance, burn

Tim Johnson
09-20-2004, 11:53 AM
I have a Canopus system on another computer, and installed the free DV codec on the VT[3] system. Works great.

burn
09-23-2004, 12:48 AM
my question is, if it is possible to encode the video files with the canopus codec when recording.
thanks in advance, burn

AntAT
09-23-2004, 01:02 AM
..........

Paul Lara
09-23-2004, 06:27 AM
Can't Canopus read the standard format DV that's captured by VT[3]?

Tim Johnson
09-23-2004, 01:56 PM
Yes--the DV codec on Canopus' site is read-only, although DVRex (and I would assume DVStorm) will play back generic Microsoft DV codec in real time.

I prefer the Canopus codec, too.

Also, although it's quite a work-around, you may want to look at Serious Magic's "DV Rack". It's built to record/monitor/proof your DV camera's firewire output directly in a laptop (it's very cool), but theoretically, if it comes with the Canopus codec (it does) there may be a way to write other Canopus DV files on that same system. You may want to download their free trial software to verify this.