PDA

View Full Version : Need help w/ volumetric rim light

xtremeskier_
09-18-2004, 01:26 PM
Hey, Im a total lightwave noob and im workin on a pretty simple logo animation. I am trying to make a sweet rim light effect over the backing of the logo, but i cant get it too look how i want. I want very noticable, dense rays of light coming over the backdrop. after futzing around with the properties for some time, the best i can seem to achieve, looks like a 2d background image. I cant seem to get the rays of light that im looking for. Anyone know of a tutorial on this, or have any tips?

Thanks so much!

Lewis
09-18-2004, 03:19 PM
I'm not sure i understud all what you need but it would help to see rendered image what you have right now ?

cheers and welcome to LW community ;).

Silkrooster
09-18-2004, 11:29 PM
Not sure but it sounds like volumetric lighting that he is trying to create. Like Lewis said, go ahead and post an image. I am sure someone will help. Also if you post only a render, go ahead and give your specs as well, MAC or PC, Ver # of Lightwave, etc.
Silk

xtremeskier_
09-21-2004, 12:27 AM
Aight, so say you just have a box. On one side of the box, you got a volumetric light. On the other side of the box is the camera. You cant see the light directly thru the camera, but I want to see the rays of light coming over the box. I've been told this is called rim light. Ive been messing around with the volumetric properties, but i just can seem to get the rays. Is the effect im lookin for even possible?

Thanks

Igu4n4
09-21-2004, 09:16 AM
Yes it is possible,.. pretty easy actually. I think you might just be unsure of what settings to include.