PDA

View Full Version : 2 Questions Please!

Hands
09-12-2004, 11:52 PM
Help me!!
im still learning lightwave and i face some proplems,
my first question is a bout the band-saw, what does it do exactly and will i use it much?
and my second question is about UVMaps, what is the difference between VMaps and UVmaps? and im really having a hard time understanding what they do! :( can someone explain me !?

Help plz and thanx
:)

faulknermano
09-13-2004, 01:48 AM
Help me!!
im still learning lightwave and i face some proplems,
my first question is a bout the band-saw, what does it do exactly and will i use it much?

most people do. just read the manual on what it does. after that, in the course of your modelling, you might want to add detail to your model in such a way that only bandsaw could do it. it's only that time you should use it. :)

and my second question is about UVMaps, what is the difference between VMaps and UVmaps? and im really having a hard time understanding what they do! :( can someone explain me !?

VMaps (Vertex Maps) is a whole range of maps. UV Maps or Texture VMaps are a part of the whole VMap thing.

VMaps are actually a term used to call how a point in modeler can store information. currently, native lw has these VMaps:

1.) UV Maps -> stores numeric values typically from 0.0 to 1.0. modeler uses this map to find out where that particular point in UV space is.

2.) Weight Maps -> also stores numeric values, but is usually represented as percentages: this is used by modeler, but more practically manipulated in layout for bones and for surfacing. just because it is called weight maps it doesnt mean that it is limited that use only. the point is that weight maps (like UV maps) contain values can be used in anyway you want (sort of).

3.) Morph Maps -> these maps contain _vector_ information, instead of single numeric ones. this is typically used by morph mixer in layout to move certain points into specified relative locations.