PDA

View Full Version : H2MW to develop further LScript

iaef
09-12-2004, 08:49 AM
I saw this announcement made by NewTek and it immediately caught my eye.

I thought somebody might comment on it, but to my surprise nobody has mentioned it. I believe it should be good news to all of us. Does anybody knows exactly what is being planned?

I am a programmer myself and found several areas where LScript could be improved, not only as a language but as a programming tool in itself. This could really open up the doors for many programmers to get involved into the LW community.

Mike Pauza
09-15-2004, 09:58 AM
Too bad H2MW hasn't articulated it's intentions. They do have some sharp people onboard though, so hopefully they can take LScript to the next level.

IMO, the biggest problem with LScript is that it can only control some aspects of LightWave. I dearly covet Maya's ability to "control everything" with script, but for me personally the biggy would be the addition of full geometry (or at least vertice) control in Layout.

Turning LW into a full fledged programming language would be AWESOME!!!

-Mike Pauza

Karmacop
09-15-2004, 10:42 PM
From the lscript mailing list, a quote from one of the guys

"In the coming months we are going to be conducting discussions on how to
improve LScript as a scripting language for the users as well as solicit
ideas for future directions. In addition to this we will be working
with NewTek to identify areas where LScript is currently "blind" and
hopefully make adjustments to the system where appropriate. It is our
goal to make LScript as robust as possible, giving users access to as
much of the LightWave interface and system as is possible."

Exper
09-16-2004, 03:22 AM
I think they should concentrate on:
- better LScript integration
- everything accessible by LScript
- better compatibility with old versions: 7.5(a/b/c/d) / 7.0 / 6.5 / 6.0 (and even older)

"LScript 2 C Converter" and a Visual Editor should be a great add too! ;)

Karmacop