PDA

View Full Version : Accumulation Buffer Bits



firstsingle
09-11-2004, 10:37 PM
Hey Guys. I'm back to using LW8.0 instead of 8.0.1 for stability reasons on my Machine.
Anyway, I noticed from the (About OpenGL) menu. My 8.0.1 Layout copy has
Accumulation Buffer Bits:32 but my 8.0 Layout has Accumulation Buffer Bits:0.
8.0 use to have 32 also but since I installed 8.0.1 it has zero now.
I'm not having problems except It's rendering a little slower it may seem. Does this Accumulation Buffer Bits number have something to do with performance?
Thanks in advance!

Power Mac G4 800MHz
768mb Ram

Screen shot's below of what I'm talking about.

Layout 8.0

firstsingle
09-11-2004, 10:38 PM
Layout 8.0.1

Lightwolf
09-12-2004, 04:31 AM
firstingle,
Accumulation bits are a feature of your openGL hardware/driver. It is more than likely that the older version of LW just didn't read out the value from the driver correctly.
This shouldn't really affect your render speed at all, and only your openGL speed if you do motion blur / DOF previews in the viewport (shift-F9).

Cheers,
Mike

firstsingle
09-12-2004, 05:00 AM
That's good news. Thanks for the Help Lightwolf.
Checked out your Plu-In infini Map. That looks very useful.