PDA

View Full Version : SDI issues



Jay Kelley
04-03-2003, 10:32 PM
I purchased a Toaster about one month ago. I also purchased the SDI option as well. So far I am loving the toaster BUT the SDI board seems to be a little behind the times and may cost me a lot of money.

The problem is a simple one: The SDI option board on the toaster has an input for video and a separate input for audio. This is cool EXCEPT that most of the decks and cameras that are using SDI multiplex the video and audio on the SAME signal...

There is no connection for that on Newtek's SDI board.

Oops..

So I called Newtek Tech Support and told him the problem. His words: "uh yeah, you gotta go to radio shack and get a splitter."

"A splitter?" I said.

"Yeah a splitter".

I had the sneaking suspision this guy did not know his bottom from a hole in the ground but since I was no more sure than I suspected he was I said thanks and hung up. (This was the first time I had ever called Newtek tech support with such poor results, after some research I now believe the kid had NO IDEA of what he was saying and just wanted me off the phone).

For those of you that need to know: I am told you have to have something called a De-Embedder. This will split the signal so Newtek's option board can take both audio and video into each of their connections. At this time I have a quote for one and it costs more than the Toaster did. (About $2,600.)

If this is the case then I think the toaster's SDI board is not such a good deal after all... Can I still return it?

One glimmer of hope: I noticed there is another connection on Newtek's SDI board that's called "RESERVED".. Any hope this could be for a dual audio/video signal? I sure hope so.

Feedback and advice would be wonderful.

Jay Kelley

kartoflanypies
01-26-2004, 05:13 AM
uh...

did you selve this problem?

i have the same troubles!

Jay Kelley
01-26-2004, 07:00 AM
Good News: This problem can be solved with a product from Miranda. It's takes a multiplexed signal and splits it.

Bad News: It costs about $920.00


There you go!

Jay

bradl
01-26-2004, 08:59 AM
Originally posted by Jay Kelley
...most of the decks and cameras that are using SDI multiplex the video and audio on the SAME signal... If a deck has SDI I would bet it also has AES. Connect that to the SDI board and you are in business. We use Sony DVW-A500's and they work fine with the SDI board. We also have D-9's with digital option board and they work. For our analog BVW's they all have Miranda D/A and A/D converters for the video and NVision converters for the audio.

kartoflanypies
01-26-2004, 09:31 AM
Thanx for suggestion!

Yeah, digital videorecorder has AES IN/OUTs.
I'am not advanced specialist in technology, but it is great if it's so simple!
Then, is that means, that I can use digital audio from SDI and just put it to AES IN/OUTs?
Still I need any conversion then, I'am right? SDI audio is just one BNC cable, but AES audio needs 6 connections (2 symetric).
I need to buy Digital Routers that route 601 SDI and AES/EBU?
How much could it costs?

thanx a lot

bradl
01-26-2004, 02:41 PM
Will reply to thread in Hardware:
http://vbulletin.newtek.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=17146