PDA

View Full Version : LightWave 7.5 education edition

red fox
09-09-2004, 08:28 AM
I've just bought LightWave 7.5 education edition privately off of the net, and I was tolled by Newtek Europe that I will need to show proof that I am a student before they will transfer the license, or I will need to buy a commercial license.
I bought this version so I could just learn it and canít afford, and would have no need for a commercial license.

Is this right if Iím not a student? Has everyone that is not a student got the commercial edition?

Very unfair!!! :mad:

BeeVee
09-09-2004, 09:00 AM
Hi Red Fox,

Of course people that aren't students have to buy the commercial version of LightWave - how else would it work? :) Educational versions can't be resold, but if you have bought one then we would be happy to convert it to a commercial version for the upgrade fee from an educational version to a production version. This isn't the same cost as buying LightWave 8 from scratch.

If anyone else sees a good deal on eBay to buy LightWave very cheaply, it's always worth checking with us that the licence is available for transfer.

B

red fox
09-09-2004, 09:39 AM
So, there is no way I can use this version of Lightwave 7.5 (used) without upgrading it first. Can I not first learn how to use it and then upgrade at a later date?
Would another way be to purchase a used upgrade e.g. lightwave 8 upgrade, and then transfer that license?

This doseínt make sense if Iím not using it to make money (just a hobby). Should have stuck to stamp collecting!

red fox
09-09-2004, 09:47 AM
I guess my point is I can't afford to spend any more money on it at the moment (wife would kill me!). So if there was any way I can use it for now, until I can afford to upgrade it would be helpful.

:(

mrunion
09-09-2004, 09:53 AM